Finds from Garendon go on display

Published: 5 years ago Author:

A new display at Charnwood museum, Loughborough will highlight some of the fascinating finds from this historic estate.

Garendon Abbey, a Cistercian house, was founded by Robert de Beaumont, 2nd Earl of Leicester, in 1133. It didn't do very well and was partly ruinous by the Dissolution. It later became a large country estate with a stunning Palladian house, sadly demolished in 1964 because of death duties.

Loughborough Coin and Search Society have been given access to the estate and have made some fabulous discoveries including an Elizabethan purse loss hoard LEIC-69C891 a rare early Iron age Sompting type axe LEIC-1ED197 and a hoard of Medieval Tealby pennies LEIC-4A3194. The latter was generously donated by the landowner, The Squire De Lisle and finders to Leicestershire Museums Service. These objects form the centre piece of a display that reflects the estates history.

Organised by Loughborough Coin and Search Society and the Leicestershire FLO Wendy Scott, the objects will be on display from Saturday December 6th until March 2015.

Contact: Wendy Scott 0116 3058325

Other formats: this page is available as xml json representations.