Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Wednesday 20th June 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Blackburn with Darwen 1 1
Cheshire East 29 29
Cheshire West and Chester 743 83
Cumbria 182 88
Knowsley 1 1
Lancashire 84 83
Rochdale 1 1
Sefton 6 6
Warrington 13 13
Wirral 2 2

Finds recorded by these 22 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Des Murphy mugsythe1cat DUR 3 3
Stuart Noon snoon LANCUM 163 68
Dot Boughton dboughton LANCUM 13 13
Alex Whitlock AlexIdris LANCUM 18 18
Alys Rouncefield alysgrace LANCUM 9 9
Lydia Prosser lydiaprosser LANCUM 50 50
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 47 43
Ben Jones bengjones LVPL 706 50
Seonnie Sergeant ssergeant LVPL 14 14
Maxine Bailey maxby64 LVPL 1 1
Alex alexw LVPL 4 4
Lorraine McVinnie lorrimcv LVPL 2 2
Melissa hsmwood LVPL 2 2
Megan Hall meganhall6081 LVPL 4 4
Andrew Agate andyagate NCL 1 1
b5259ae0580993d7441d9706ecfcddf5 andydb PUBLIC 1 1
91c2c87cc888658079f910d499edfeb3 fisher1266x PUBLIC 1 1
Amy Downes acooper SWYOR 5 5
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 1 1
Teresa Gilmore tgilmore WMID 1 1
Vic Allnatt vallnatt WMID 3 3
Susie White susiewhite WREX 13 13
1062 307

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 9 8
EARLY MEDIEVAL 7 7
IRON AGE 4 4
MEDIEVAL 88 88
MESOLITHIC 2 2
MODERN 5 5
NEOLITHIC 6 2
POST MEDIEVAL 797 122
ROMAN 132 57
UNKNOWN 12 12
1062 307

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
DUR 1
LANCUM 32
LVPL 33
NCL 1
PUBLIC 2
SWYOR 2
WAW 1
WMID 4
WREX 6
82

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 102 79
February 46 26
March 32 32
April 764 53
May 73 72
June 45 45
1062 307

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 47 47
2007 2 2
2008 1 1
2016 2 2
2017 186 127
2018 816 121
2019 8 7
1062 307

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Fieldwalking 1 1
Metal detector 1057 302
Other chance find 3 3
Unknown 1 1
1062 307

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 44 40
Coastland 3 3
Cultivated land 1010 259
Open fresh water 1 1
Other 1 1
Woodland 3 3
1062 307

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 4 4
6 figure reference 56 56
8 figure reference 34 14
10 figure reference 968 233
1062 307