Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Wednesday 23rd May 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Barnsley 7 7
Bradford 5 5
Calderdale 42 33
Doncaster 132 121
East Riding of Yorkshire 705 622
Kirklees 3 3
Leeds 23 23
North East Lincolnshire 164 120
North Lincolnshire 746 656
North Yorkshire 851 734
Rotherham 102 83
Sheffield 1 1
Wakefield 40 40
York 60 60

Finds recorded by these 40 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Roumpini-Ioanna (Nina) Charami ninacharami DENO 1 1
Phil Hughes pjh41 DENO 6 6
Meghan King meghanking DENO 5 5
Alastair Willis awillis DENO 2 2
Rebecca Mansfield rebeccamansfield DUR 10 10
benjamin westwood benwestwood DUR 1 1
Des Murphy mugsythe1cat DUR 23 23
Ann Lipscombe annlipscombe DUR 31 31
Simon Lipscombe lipscombe160 DUR 5 3
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 1 1
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 1 1
Alys Rouncefield alysgrace LANCUM 3 3
Stuart Noon snoon LANCUM 63 38
Alex Whitlock AlexIdris LANCUM 1 1
Adam Daubney adaubney LIN 11 11
Maxine Bailey maxby64 LVPL 2 2
Melissa hsmwood LVPL 1 1
Ben Jones bengjones LVPL 12 12
Seonnie Sergeant ssergeant LVPL 4 4
Andrew Agate andyagate NCL 1 1
Martin Foreman mforeman NLM 871 739
df4a980704e547f7008607b7e55acfcd TheManWithTheHat PUBLIC 2 2
2a62a36ca66db57fde8b86b82e2b06d9 nikkig PUBLIC 1 1
73e4a0751ffcab801caf7ad6b2386073 avrilarch PUBLIC 2 2
dd935e7a59fd81c2179eac589c01861b tbrownwarr1998 PUBLIC 1 1
7518376a7af183e2c5321deb4ad2c66d siddler PUBLIC 183 99
57b542b86ddfa88b822ec103a5fafdaf beejay PUBLIC 2 2
a0a5e4316b488f3f71baf1ef7b880dfb catkin68 PUBLIC 1 1
0819052f06540d3479c82b54821af8c5 dorothy1 PUBLIC 1 1
b56e8a5dd9d2205f886a399017dcbfbe pwheat PUBLIC 7 7
66c45064a78afe34b3543d7769096325 wolvesjeff PUBLIC 12 12
91c2c87cc888658079f910d499edfeb3 fisher1266x PUBLIC 12 12
Amy Downes acooper SWYOR 332 291
Jack Coulthard wakefield SWYOR 172 172
Susie White susiewhite WREX 1 1
Rebecca Griffiths bmorris YORYM 748 661
Gail Hitchens gehitchens YORYM 98 98
Lydia Prosser liddyprosser YORYM 158 156
Rebecca Vickers rebvic YORYM 49 49
Denise Wilding denisewilding YORYM 44 44
2881 2508

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 61 24
EARLY MEDIEVAL 111 108
IRON AGE 74 38
MEDIEVAL 664 643
MESOLITHIC 83 70
MODERN 14 14
NEOLITHIC 70 64
POST MEDIEVAL 791 710
ROMAN 912 753
UNKNOWN 101 84
2881 2508

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
DENO 10
DUR 17
FASAM 1
GLO 1
LANCUM 13
LIN 3
LVPL 5
NCL 1
NLM 43
PUBLIC 6
SWYOR 74
WREX 1
YORYM 73
248

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 703 648
February 669 583
March 625 510
April 473 401
May 411 366
2881 2508

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 1137 1046
1983 1 1
1994 2 2
1998 1 1
2000 6 6
2003 1 1
2005 12 1
2006 1 1
2010 1 1
2013 1 1
2014 1 1
2015 11 11
2016 63 47
2017 512 474
2018 1129 912
2019 2 2
2881 2508

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Building work 1 1
Chance find during metal detecting 50 47
Controlled archaeological investigation (stratified) 30 1
Fieldwalking 259 159
Metal detector 2483 2267
Other chance find 58 33
2881 2508

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 122 120
Coastland 109 84
Cultivated land 2574 2237
Grassland, Heathland 25 25
Open fresh water 44 35
Other 7 7
2881 2508

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 6 4
4 figure reference 14 14
6 figure reference 1462 1229
8 figure reference 223 214
10 figure reference 1170 1041
12 figure reference 6 6
2881 2508