Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Saturday 24th February 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Bradford 4 4
Calderdale 8 6
Doncaster 49 38
East Riding of Yorkshire 337 295
Leeds 4 4
North East Lincolnshire 54 54
North Lincolnshire 395 349
North Yorkshire 273 267
Rotherham 5 5
Wakefield 6 6
York 34 34

Finds recorded by these 26 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Philip Hughes pjh41 DENO 3 3
Meghan King meghanking DENO 2 2
Ann Lipscombe annlipscombe DUR 3 3
Simon Lipscombe lipscombe160 DUR 3 1
benjamin westwood benwestwood DUR 1 1
Rebecca Mansfield rebeccamansfield DUR 3 3
Des Murphy mugsythe1cat DUR 4 4
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 1 1
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 1 1
Stuart Noon snoon LANCUM 5 5
Alex Whitlock AlexIdris LANCUM 1 1
Adam Daubney adaubney LIN 9 9
Ben Jones bengjones LVPL 5 5
Andrew Agate andyagate NCL 1 1
Martin Foreman mforeman NLM 421 377
66c45064a78afe34b3543d7769096325 wolvesjeff PUBLIC 3 3
7518376a7af183e2c5321deb4ad2c66d siddler PUBLIC 22 22
91c2c87cc888658079f910d499edfeb3 fisher1266x PUBLIC 9 9
b56e8a5dd9d2205f886a399017dcbfbe pwheat PUBLIC 6 6
Amy Downes acooper SWYOR 80 66
Jack Coulthard wakefield SWYOR 26 26
Rebecca Vickers rebvic YORYM 30 30
Rebecca Griffiths bmorris YORYM 354 307
Lydia Prosser liddyprosser YORYM 92 92
Gail Hitchens gehitchens YORYM 63 63
Denise Wilding denisewilding YORYM 21 21
1169 1062

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 10 10
EARLY MEDIEVAL 37 36
IRON AGE 38 9
MEDIEVAL 232 229
MESOLITHIC 35 33
MODERN 6 6
NEOLITHIC 37 35
POST MEDIEVAL 346 307
ROMAN 375 360
UNKNOWN 53 37
1169 1062

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
DENO 4
DUR 7
FASAM 1
GLO 1
LANCUM 3
LIN 2
LVPL 2
NCL 1
NLM 15
PUBLIC 4
SWYOR 21
YORYM 51
112

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 702 647
February 467 415
1169 1062

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 566 519
1994 1 1
2015 2 2
2016 20 16
2017 174 160
2018 406 364
1169 1062

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Chance find during metal detecting 24 24
Controlled archaeological investigation (stratified) 30 1
Fieldwalking 102 79
Metal detector 1013 958
1169 1062

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 72 70
Coastland 41 41
Cultivated land 1034 931
Grassland, Heathland 15 15
Open fresh water 7 5
1169 1062

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 3 1
4 figure reference 8 8
6 figure reference 644 557
8 figure reference 126 118
10 figure reference 382 372
12 figure reference 6 6
1169 1062