Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Saturday 26th May 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Bath and North East Somerset 20 20
Bournemouth 2 2
City of Plymouth 102 1
Cornwall 125 116
Devon 272 214
Dorset 619 573
Gloucestershire 1913 384
North Somerset 177 22
Somerset 542 443
South Gloucestershire 59 20
Swindon 66 63
Wiltshire 1339 1191

Finds recorded by these 64 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Lindsey bertie123 BERK 3 3
Andrew Brown aibrown BM 102 102
Arwen James ajames BUC 1 1
Helen Fowler hfowler CAM 1 1
Caroline Dudley carolinedudley CORN 40 40
Anna Tyacke atyacke CORN 90 81
Catherine Falkner willanne2 DENO 1 1
Andy Robinson andyrob247 DEV 17 17
Leah Moradi lmoradi DEV 52 48
Sarah Kelman sarahk DOR 32 27
Ciorstaidh Hayward Trevarthen caht DOR 185 156
Lucy Bevan lucybev DOR 93 93
rachel mowbray rachelcaistor DOR 12 12
Sophie Flynn slflynn ESS 5 5
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 1 1
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 1948 298
Katie Hinds khindshamp HAMP 17 17
Steven Guy-Gibbens steveguy7819 HAMP 1 1
Peter Reavill preavill HESH 13 13
Walter (Jo) Ahmet ucljo KENT 1 1
Stuart Wyatt stuartwyatt LON 4 4
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 11 7
Andrew Agate andyagate NCL 1 1
Martin Foreman mforeman NLM 1 1
Mark Lodwick mlodwick NMGW 2 2
Eirini Anagnostou eanagnostou NMGW 45 45
Julie Shoemark jshoemark5 NMS 4 3
Andrew Rogerson arogerson NMS 1 1
Anni Byard abyard OXON 53 46
Ian Richardson ianr PAS 2 2
0011f6f8c1520fe9a7f471cc18fe72c0 rae242 PUBLIC 1 1
60655c79ca20b13b468671549592f530 adb1956 PUBLIC 8 8
a2a8da8dea7b61767ac2a574910d3621 beckrow PUBLIC 1 1
2f5281d34c290ccffee010735d716c87 ne1l PUBLIC 1 1
b3601ac99504a4af346fce90139b4d14 PatrickBrown PUBLIC 1 1
af67e83c6ffc72ce6ac606823d5524ba redduster PUBLIC 3 3
Nonn Bound nonnbound68 SOM 67 67
Jordan Gamble jgamble SOM 23 20
Laura Burnett elburnett SOM 214 159
Wil Partridge wpartridge SOM 512 336
Andrew Williams andrewwilliams SOM 159 93
Sheila Hicks miserden19 SOM 29 29
Naomi Payne npayne SOM 10 10
Margaret Broomfield margaretb SUR 41 38
Edwin Wood EdwinWood SUSS 5 5
Amy Potts amypotts SUSS 7 7
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 75 62
Jane Hanbidge janehanbidge WILT 109 109
Erik Vander Meulen evandermeulen WILT 61 61
Richard Henry rhenry2 WILT 212 136
Helen Samuels helensamuels WILT 1 1
Graham Bould kiwidigger WILT 4 4
Steve Toomer 60steve WILT 1 1
Fiona Johnstone flojohnstone WILT 8 8
Claire Goodey corbie01 WILT 42 30
Richard Bennett richie616 WILT 7 7
Nina Dierks vikadierks WILT 362 358
Alix Smith alixsmith WILT 112 112
Helen Baker hebaker WILT 7 7
Callum Paisnel callumpaisnel WILT 108 107
Alyson Tanner alysontanner WILT 263 197
Teresa Gilmore tgilmore WMID 33 33
Vic Allnatt vallnatt WMID 9 6
Susie White susiewhite WREX 1 1
5236 3049

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 124 75
EARLY MEDIEVAL 46 41
IRON AGE 62 59
MEDIEVAL 564 555
MESOLITHIC 65 15
MODERN 7 7
NEOLITHIC 60 54
PALAEOLITHIC 20 7
POST MEDIEVAL 646 597
ROMAN 3565 1604
UNKNOWN 77 35
5236 3049

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
BERK 1
BM 3
BUC 1
CAM 1
CORN 38
DENO 1
DEV 78
DOR 42
ESS 1
FASAM 1
GLO 32
HAMP 13
HESH 2
KENT 1
LON 2
NARC 1
NCL 0
NLM 1
NMGW 10
NMS 1
OXON 9
PAS 1
PUBLIC 9
SOM 66
SUR 2
SUSS 4
WAW 9
WILT 72
WMID 3
WREX 1
406

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 2270 683
February 1183 825
March 601 566
April 598 448
May 584 527
5236 3049

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 3885 1955
1918 13 1
1943 1 1
1950 46 7
1990 133 133
2007 4 4
2008 9 9
2011 1 1
2012 31 28
2014 2 2
2015 6 6
2016 69 66
2017 815 627
2018 220 208
2019 1 1
5236 3049

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Chance find during metal detecting 95 65
Fieldwalking 107 55
Gardening 57 11
Metal detector 4888 2891
Other chance find 89 27
5236 3049

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 1771 1569
Coastland 22 22
Cultivated land 1694 1310
Grassland, Heathland 126 117
Other 1577 25
Wetlands 45 5
Woodland 1 1
5236 3049

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 18 17
4 figure reference 2 2
6 figure reference 1358 966
8 figure reference 809 713
10 figure reference 3049 1351
5236 3049