Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Thursday 22nd February 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Bath and North East Somerset 14 14
Bournemouth 1 1
Cornwall 40 40
Devon 103 62
Dorset 212 193
Gloucestershire 1643 140
North Somerset 125 10
Somerset 324 237
South Gloucestershire 1 1
Swindon 24 24
Wiltshire 670 554

Finds recorded by these 44 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Anni Byard abyard BERK 7 7
Andrew Brown aibrown BM 3 3
Caroline Dudley carolinedudley CORN 20 20
Anna Tyacke atyacke CORN 28 28
Catherine Falkner willanne2 DENO 1 1
Wil Partridge wpartridgedev DEV 225 171
rachel mowbray rachelcaistor DOR 3 3
Lucy Bevan lucybev DOR 30 30
Ciorstaidh Hayward Trevarthen caht DOR 43 34
Sophie Flynn slflynn ESS 5 5
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 1 1
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 1705 97
Steven Guy-Gibbens steveguy7819 HAMP 1 1
Katie Hinds khindshamp HAMP 5 5
Peter Reavill preavill HESH 13 13
Mark Lodwick mlodwick NMGW 2 2
Eirini Anagnostou eanagnostou NMGW 44 44
af67e83c6ffc72ce6ac606823d5524ba redduster PUBLIC 2 2
a2a8da8dea7b61767ac2a574910d3621 beckrow PUBLIC 1 1
b3601ac99504a4af346fce90139b4d14 PatrickBrown PUBLIC 1 1
Laura Burnett elburnett SOM 121 108
Leah Moradi leahmoradi SOM 16 13
Andrew Williams andrewwilliams SOM 106 40
Naomi Payne npayne SOM 10 10
Sheila Hicks miserden19 SOM 7 7
Nonn Bound nonnbound68 SOM 30 30
Margaret Broomfield margaretb SUR 10 10
Edwin Wood EdwinWood SUSS 4 4
Amy Potts amypotts SUSS 7 7
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 14 13
Helen Baker hebaker WILT 7 7
Jane Hanbidge janehanbidge WILT 18 18
Nina Dierks vikadierks WILT 264 260
Alix Smith alixsmith WILT 35 35
Alyson Tanner alysontanner WILT 110 63
Fiona Johnstone flojohnstone WILT 2 2
Graham Bould kiwidigger WILT 2 2
Erik Vander Meulen evandermeulen WILT 35 35
Callum Paisnel callumpaisnel WILT 6 6
Claire Goodey corbie01 WILT 18 18
Richard Henry rhenry2 WILT 150 77
Richard Bennett richie616 WILT 7 7
Vic Allnatt vallnatt WMID 5 2
Teresa Gilmore tgilmore WMID 33 33
3157 1276

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 72 32
EARLY MEDIEVAL 30 25
IRON AGE 18 17
MEDIEVAL 251 248
MESOLITHIC 61 11
MODERN 2 2
NEOLITHIC 15 14
PALAEOLITHIC 3 3
POST MEDIEVAL 288 267
ROMAN 2409 649
UNKNOWN 8 8
3157 1276

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
BERK 2
BM 2
CORN 17
DENO 1
DEV 24
DOR 23
ESS 1
FASAM 1
GLO 18
HAMP 4
HESH 2
NMGW 9
PUBLIC 3
SOM 40
SUR 2
SUSS 4
WAW 4
WILT 35
WMID 2
194

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 2267 680
February 890 596
3157 1276

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 2600 854
0 1 1
1943 1 1
1990 41 41
2007 4 4
2008 9 9
2011 1 1
2015 4 4
2016 37 37
2017 444 309
2018 15 15
3157 1276

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Chance find during metal detecting 38 19
Fieldwalking 51 39
Gardening 3 1
Metal detector 2981 1195
Other chance find 84 22
3157 1276

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 790 645
Coastland 8 8
Cultivated land 823 588
Grassland, Heathland 20 20
Other 1516 15
3157 1276

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 11 10
6 figure reference 645 438
8 figure reference 366 310
10 figure reference 2135 518
3157 1276