Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Thursday 24th May 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
County of Herefordshire 119 101
Shropshire 218 137
Solihull 4 4
Staffordshire 134 126
Telford and Wrekin 12 12
Warwickshire 227 155
Worcestershire 158 158

Finds recorded by these 33 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Rod Trevaskus rod BERK 1 1
Phil Hughes pjh41 DENO 1 1
Catherine Falkner willanne2 DENO 1 1
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 3 3
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 15 15
Abigail Cox abigailcox HESH 4 2
Peter Reavill preavill HESH 223 130
Stuart Noon snoon LANCUM 3 3
Elisabeth Janovsky ejkj1 LEIC 1 1
Susheela Burford susheelacb LIN 22 22
Adam Daubney adaubney LIN 3 3
Megan Hall meganhall6081 LVPL 8 8
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 13 13
Lorraine McVinnie lorrimcv LVPL 1 1
Ben Jones bengjones LVPL 9 9
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 5 5
Eirini Anagnostou eanagnostou NMGW 23 23
Mark Lodwick mlodwick NMGW 1 1
b3601ac99504a4af346fce90139b4d14 PatrickBrown PUBLIC 4 4
d0b859c3e786f59a675f425186e2d620 marctelford PUBLIC 3 3
80bc169d5bc00cda3678ff3b1542bdf5 sm14hu PUBLIC 1 1
dd935e7a59fd81c2179eac589c01861b tbrownwarr1998 PUBLIC 3 3
57b542b86ddfa88b822ec103a5fafdaf beejay PUBLIC 2 2
8b1fb15b027586c41b6d2a02a9b08330 longcross PUBLIC 8 8
Margaret Broomfield margaretb SUR 3 3
Edwin Wood EdwinWood SUSS 1 1
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 279 234
Teresa Gilmore tgilmore WMID 27 24
Vic Allnatt vallnatt WMID 114 82
Helen Glenn hglenn WMID 27 27
Stephen Stewart bobsure WMID 14 14
Aimee Hinds ahinds WMID 20 20
Susie White susiewhite WREX 29 25
872 693

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 22 15
EARLY MEDIEVAL 26 26
IRON AGE 10 10
MEDIEVAL 318 258
MESOLITHIC 4 2
MODERN 11 8
NEOLITHIC 33 13
PALAEOLITHIC 1 1
POST MEDIEVAL 196 179
ROMAN 237 167
UNKNOWN 14 14
872 693

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
BERK 1
DENO 2
FASAM 0
GLO 5
HESH 22
LANCUM 2
LEIC 1
LIN 1
LVPL 12
NARC 2
NMGW 15
PUBLIC 5
SUR 1
SUSS 1
WAW 40
WMID 50
WREX 6
166

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 191 169
February 172 168
March 71 46
April 220 167
May 218 143
872 693

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 379 295
1976 2 2
2011 1 1
2012 4 4
2013 2 2
2015 16 9
2016 31 29
2017 340 299
2018 97 52
872 693

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Agricultural or drainage work 22 3
Chance find during metal detecting 28 16
Controlled archaeological investigation 6 3
Fieldwalking 62 13
Gardening 2 2
Metal detector 751 655
Other chance find 1 1
872 693

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 532 451
Cultivated land 298 222
Grassland, Heathland 6 6
Other 34 12
Woodland 2 2
872 693

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 61 58
4 figure reference 2 2
6 figure reference 265 186
8 figure reference 58 54
10 figure reference 486 393
872 693