Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Wednesday 23rd May 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Bedford 67 66
Cambridgeshire 465 374
Central Bedfordshire 75 74
City of Peterborough 4 4
Essex 293 194
Hertfordshire 397 364
Norfolk 3136 2315
Suffolk 2217 1945

Finds recorded by these 63 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Matthew Fittock mfittock BH 88 82
Philippa Walton pwalton BH 376 347
Dominic Shelley dshelleyic BM 138 106
Andrew Brown aibrown BM 82 82
Helen Wickenden hwickenden BUC 2 2
Arwen James ajames BUC 49 49
Helen Fowler hfowler CAM 95 60
Caroline Dudley carolinedudley CORN 5 5
Anna Tyacke atyacke CORN 10 10
Phil Hughes pjh41 DENO 5 5
Meghan King meghanking DENO 8 8
Wil Partridge wpartridgedev DEV 1 1
rachel mowbray rachelcaistor DOR 1 1
benjamin westwood benwestwood DUR 1 1
Violet Starr violet92 ESS 3 3
Sophie Flynn slflynn ESS 122 122
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 1 1
Peter Barker pbarker HAMP 1 1
Peter Reavill preavill HESH 1 1
Frank Basford fbasford IOW 1 1
Walter (Jo) Ahmet ucljo KENT 3 3
Margaret Erwin smokedkelpie KENT 1 1
Joyce Lee jmlarch84 LEIC 2 2
Elisabeth Janovsky ejkj1 LEIC 35 33
Susheela Burford susheelacb LIN 6 6
Stuart Wyatt stuartwyatt LON 4 4
Helena Costas hcosta LON 5 5
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 6 6
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 18 18
Helen Geake hgeake NFAHG 1 1
CHARLOTTE VEYSEY veysey NMS 31 23
Garry Crace norfolkarcher1 NMS 69 69
Claire Barker clairebarker NMS 861 852
Adrian Marsden amarsden NMS 516 493
Julie Shoemark jshoemark5 NMS 419 413
Andrew Rogerson arogerson NMS 1160 385
Ian Richardson ianr PAS 1 1
aacd4abd33b26603e9eef0af593e95cf caelian59 PUBLIC 1 1
3a368818b7341d48660e8dd6c5a77dbe joerey1 PUBLIC 19 19
543a6a7b8ec5cfff9eed754bc1efc5fe strebor PUBLIC 6 6
80bc169d5bc00cda3678ff3b1542bdf5 sm14hu PUBLIC 1 1
9f62b671cf08237acfaed64604cbc100 themidnorfolksearcher PUBLIC 10 10
1855ca3d2f18638dc15b5686645d1e82 rcpritchard PUBLIC 1 1
92b66268a907a47ce1bd2b90c33bc4d2 grahamb PUBLIC 48 48
639b9fc8f34cab7c81aef400bde5d22c eddystone PUBLIC 6 6
8b1fb15b027586c41b6d2a02a9b08330 longcross PUBLIC 4 4
9144da6f1df86e69d576369a841e4514 dmetson PUBLIC 5 5
c89056f233881948d1db014502ade34f scanni PUBLIC 1 1
807b834bbd125db5cc54e47916a3a5dc kingdigger PUBLIC 1 1
65f36801777822ca29091b697e3b7c0c tonymedwell PUBLIC 1 1
33add4ef6809bcbac529e6dc667d8ab3 scampi PUBLIC 31 31
Riccardo Caravello ricc SF 583 583
Anna Booth annab SF 779 572
Alexander Bliss alexbliss SF 983 799
Faye Minter fminter SF 1 1
Margaret Broomfield margaretb SUR 12 10
Edwin Wood EdwinWood SUSS 4 4
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 9 9
Nina Dierks vikadierks WILT 6 6
Richard Henry rhenry2 WILT 5 5
Jane Hanbidge janehanbidge WILT 2 2
Helen Glenn hglenn WMID 1 1
Rebecca Griffiths bmorris YORYM 6 6
6654 5336

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 125 46
EARLY MEDIEVAL 257 233
IRON AGE 153 139
MEDIEVAL 1965 1557
MESOLITHIC 9 8
MODERN 12 12
NEOLITHIC 28 27
PALAEOLITHIC 5 5
POST MEDIEVAL 964 913
ROMAN 3098 2362
UNKNOWN 38 34
6654 5336

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
BH 27
BM 3
BUC 7
CAM 17
CORN 1
DENO 4
DEV 1
DOR 1
DUR 1
ESS 17
FASAM 1
HAMP 1
HESH 1
IOW 1
KENT 1
LEIC 5
LIN 1
LON 3
LVPL 1
NARC 2
NFAHG 0
NMS 138
PAS 1
PUBLIC 14
SF 125
SUR 3
SUSS 2
WAW 3
WILT 1
WMID 1
YORYM 1
385

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 1374 1047
February 1620 1310
March 1531 1263
April 1160 1090
May 969 626
6654 5336

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 508 426
1900 2 2
1970 22 5
1975 1 1
1978 2 2
1979 1 1
1982 6 6
1999 24 1
2002 1 1
2004 4 4
2005 2 2
2007 5 5
2008 2 2
2009 1 1
2011 1 1
2012 3 3
2013 27 24
2014 19 19
2015 169 156
2016 944 893
2017 2359 1767
2018 2551 2014
6654 5336

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Agricultural or drainage work 1 1
Building work 1 1
Chance find during metal detecting 143 42
Fieldwalking 11 11
Gardening 3 3
Metal detector 6472 5272
Other chance find 23 6
6654 5336

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 3687 2829
Coastland 4 4
Cultivated land 2936 2476
Grassland, Heathland 16 16
Other 9 9
Woodland 2 2
6654 5336

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 139 123
4 figure reference 1 1
6 figure reference 979 810
8 figure reference 2231 1451
10 figure reference 3289 2936
12 figure reference 15 15
6654 5336