Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Tuesday 20th February 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Bedford 63 62
Cambridgeshire 213 173
Central Bedfordshire 4 4
Essex 200 102
Hertfordshire 103 98
Norfolk 1079 892
Suffolk 828 638

Finds recorded by these 36 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Matthew Fittock mfittock BH 1 1
Philippa Walton pwalton BH 153 147
Dominic Shelley dshelleyic BM 6 6
Andrew Brown aibrown BM 80 80
Helen Fowler hfowler CAM 74 39
Anna Tyacke atyacke CORN 1 1
Meghan King meghanking DENO 8 8
Wil Partridge wpartridgedev DEV 1 1
rachel mowbray rachelcaistor DOR 1 1
Sophie Flynn slflynn ESS 80 80
Elisabeth Janovsky ejkj1 LEIC 22 20
Stuart Wyatt stuartwyatt LON 1 1
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 6 6
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 15 15
Garry Crace norfolkarcher1 NMS 15 15
Claire Barker clairebarker NMS 484 484
Adrian Marsden amarsden NMS 138 126
Julie Shoemark jshoemark5 NMS 94 93
Andrew Rogerson arogerson NMS 319 145
8b1fb15b027586c41b6d2a02a9b08330 longcross PUBLIC 1 1
807b834bbd125db5cc54e47916a3a5dc kingdigger PUBLIC 1 1
65f36801777822ca29091b697e3b7c0c tonymedwell PUBLIC 1 1
543a6a7b8ec5cfff9eed754bc1efc5fe strebor PUBLIC 2 2
1855ca3d2f18638dc15b5686645d1e82 rcpritchard PUBLIC 1 1
92b66268a907a47ce1bd2b90c33bc4d2 grahamb PUBLIC 26 26
Faye Minter fminter SF 1 1
Alexander Bliss alexbliss SF 413 291
Anna Booth annab SF 411 244
Riccardo Caravello ricc SF 95 95
Margaret Broomfield margaretb SUR 12 10
Edwin Wood EdwinWood SUSS 4 4
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 9 9
Nina Dierks vikadierks WILT 6 6
Richard Henry rhenry2 WILT 5 5
Jane Hanbidge janehanbidge WILT 2 2
Helen Glenn hglenn WMID 1 1
2490 1969

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 96 18
EARLY MEDIEVAL 83 76
IRON AGE 60 50
MEDIEVAL 729 555
MESOLITHIC 1 1
MODERN 3 3
NEOLITHIC 15 14
PALAEOLITHIC 1 1
POST MEDIEVAL 379 345
ROMAN 1112 895
UNKNOWN 11 11
2490 1969

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
BH 15
BM 1
CAM 6
CORN 0
DENO 1
DEV 1
DOR 1
ESS 9
LEIC 4
LON 1
LVPL 1
NARC 2
NMS 68
PUBLIC 6
SF 66
SUR 3
SUSS 2
WAW 3
WILT 1
WMID 1
192

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 1367 1040
February 1123 929
2490 1969

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 297 216
1970 2 2
1978 1 1
2012 1 1
2013 3 3
2014 8 8
2015 48 47
2016 369 326
2017 1342 1026
2018 419 339
2490 1969

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Agricultural or drainage work 1 1
Chance find during metal detecting 132 32
Fieldwalking 1 1
Gardening 1 1
Metal detector 2355 1934
2490 1969

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 1298 1103
Coastland 1 1
Cultivated land 1188 862
Other 3 3
2490 1969

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 14 14
4 figure reference 1 1
6 figure reference 466 372
8 figure reference 729 556
10 figure reference 1279 1025
12 figure reference 1 1
2490 1969