Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Saturday 26th May 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Bridgend 4 4
Caerphilly 6 6
Cardiff 5 5
Carmarthenshire 68 68
Conwy 13 13
Denbighshire 24 24
Flintshire 10 10
Gwynedd 6 6
Isle of Anglesey 3 3
Merthyr Tydfil 13 13
Monmouthshire 49 49
Neath Port Talbot 1 1
Newport 3 3
Pembrokeshire 24 24
Powys 25 25
Rhondda Cynon Taf 4 4
Swansea 12 12
the Vale of Glamorgan 49 49
Torfaen 2 2
Wrexham 96 15

Finds recorded by these 17 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Jane Kenney janekenney GAT 5 5
Sean Derby derby94 GAT 1 1
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 19 19
Peter Reavill preavill HESH 2 2
Maxine Bailey maxby64 LVPL 1 1
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 1 1
Seonnie Sergeant ssergeant LVPL 8 8
Ben Jones bengjones LVPL 4 4
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 1 1
Martin Foreman mforeman NLM 1 1
Eirini Anagnostou eanagnostou NMGW 225 225
Mark Lodwick mlodwick NMGW 90 9
7d4f05090487f679a54327bbf568736b slord1617 PUBLIC 1 1
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 3 3
Helen Glenn hglenn WMID 5 5
Susie White susiewhite WREX 49 49
Rebecca Griffiths bmorris YORYM 1 1
417 336

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 15 15
EARLY MEDIEVAL 1 1
IRON AGE 8 8
MEDIEVAL 107 107
MODERN 2 2
NEOLITHIC 2 2
POST MEDIEVAL 91 91
ROMAN 188 107
UNKNOWN 3 3
417 336

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
GAT 0
GLO 2
HESH 2
LVPL 4
NARC 0
NLM 1
NMGW 73
PUBLIC 1
WAW 2
WMID 1
WREX 20
YORYM 1
107

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 205 124
February 172 172
March 17 17
April 12 12
May 11 11
417 336

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 235 235
1995 1 1
2006 1 1
2012 1 1
2013 1 1
2014 3 3
2016 97 16
2017 65 65
2018 13 13
417 336

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Metal detector 413 332
Other chance find 4 4
417 336

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 292 292
Coastland 1 1
Cultivated land 113 32
Grassland, Heathland 10 10
Other 1 1
417 336

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 38 38
4 figure reference 2 2
6 figure reference 121 121
8 figure reference 160 79
10 figure reference 95 95
12 figure reference 1 1
417 336