Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Saturday 24th February 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Bridgend 4 4
Caerphilly 4 4
Cardiff 5 5
Carmarthenshire 68 68
Conwy 1 1
Denbighshire 19 19
Flintshire 7 7
Gwynedd 3 3
Merthyr Tydfil 13 13
Monmouthshire 40 40
Neath Port Talbot 1 1
Newport 3 3
Pembrokeshire 24 24
Powys 22 22
Rhondda Cynon Taf 4 4
Swansea 11 11
the Vale of Glamorgan 47 47
Torfaen 1 1
Wrexham 90 9

Finds recorded by these 11 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Jane Kenney janekenney GAT 3 3
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 19 19
Peter Reavill preavill HESH 1 1
Maxine Bailey maxby64 LVPL 1 1
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 1 1
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 1 1
Martin Foreman mforeman NLM 1 1
Mark Lodwick mlodwick NMGW 84 3
Eirini Anagnostou eanagnostou NMGW 217 217
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 3 3
Susie White susiewhite WREX 36 36
367 286

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 10 10
IRON AGE 7 7
MEDIEVAL 88 88
MODERN 2 2
NEOLITHIC 2 2
POST MEDIEVAL 73 73
ROMAN 183 102
UNKNOWN 2 2
367 286

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
GAT 0
GLO 2
HESH 1
LVPL 2
NARC 0
NLM 1
NMGW 67
WAW 2
WREX 12
87

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 205 124
February 162 162
367 286

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 222 222
1995 1 1
2006 1 1
2016 97 16
2017 46 46
367 286

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Metal detector 364 283
Other chance find 3 3
367 286

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 262 262
Coastland 1 1
Cultivated land 103 22
Grassland, Heathland 1 1
367 286

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 31 31
4 figure reference 2 2
6 figure reference 109 109
8 figure reference 157 76
10 figure reference 67 67
12 figure reference 1 1
367 286