Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Saturday 26th May 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Buckinghamshire 552 462
City of Portsmouth 2 2
East Sussex 286 284
Hampshire 1426 801
Isle of Wight 507 492
Kent 631 622
Medway 11 9
Milton Keynes 52 51
Oxfordshire 1813 1302
Surrey 73 73
West Berkshire 36 36
West Sussex 170 170
Windsor and Maidenhead 3 3

Finds recorded by these 86 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Dr Alison Pollard medea1981 ASHM 737 270
Michael Byard maritime BERK 382 382
Rod Trevaskus rod BERK 39 39
Lindsey bertie123 BERK 56 56
Matthew Fittock mfittock BH 1 1
Philippa Walton pwalton BH 181 175
Arwen James ajames BUC 335 245
Helena Costas hcostas BUC 138 138
Helen Wickenden hwickenden BUC 26 26
Helen Fowler hfowler CAM 5 5
Phil Hughes pjh41 DENO 1 1
Leah Moradi lmoradi DEV 1 1
Wil Partridge wpartridgedev DEV 3 3
Andy Robinson andyrob247 DEV 2 2
Sarah Kelman sarahk DOR 4 4
rachel mowbray rachelcaistor DOR 2 2
Ciorstaidh Hayward Trevarthen caht DOR 2 2
Simon Lipscombe lipscombe160 DUR 2 2
Violet Starr violet92 ESS 3 3
Sophie Flynn slflynn ESS 3 3
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 23 23
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 5 5
Margaret Broomfield margareteb HAMP 271 254
Fiona Johnstone flojohnstonehamp HAMP 23 23
Steven Guy-Gibbens steveguy7819 HAMP 6 6
Peter Barker pbarker HAMP 93 93
Nicholas Mead nxmead HAMP 48 48
Katie Hinds khindshamp HAMP 580 214
James Fautley jam22 HAMP 18 18
Peter Reavill preavill HESH 1 1
Frank Basford fbasford IOW 500 485
Andrew Ward wardandrew2016 KENT 25 25
Henry Weeds henrydw21 KENT 34 34
Walter (Jo) Ahmet ucljo KENT 266 261
Margaret Erwin smokedkelpie KENT 30 27
vikki brereton vikkib KENT 44 44
Joyce Lee jmlarch84 LEIC 1 1
Elisabeth Janovsky ejkj1 LEIC 19 19
Stuart Wyatt stuartwyatt LON 12 12
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 7 7
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 20 20
Eirini Anagnostou eanagnostou NMGW 6 6
Julie Shoemark jshoemark5 NMS 5 5
Andrew Rogerson arogerson NMS 1 1
Garry Crace norfolkarcher1 NMS 2 2
Claire Barker clairebarker NMS 1 1
Anni Byard abyard OXON 308 299
5c345ab760eae980e844bc8c5b420992 essjaywhy PUBLIC 1 1
7e4a28bb4baec55c1ce2ab46d6e62649 hstewart PUBLIC 1 1
d3a3f0aefb1d669085962e6d3f401339 regent13 PUBLIC 1 1
587160a0f4bee3cffa8325290536e5f6 mathoneysett PUBLIC 1 1
ef83134bfcbff156710a2204e0f20673 ellie08rowland PUBLIC 27 27
365c606815954e67d03234e271e90d25 32midhurst PUBLIC 7 7
c4f185f009a485f854b8109662b372a5 paulhill PUBLIC 18 18
9803b1212f85991e3ab525679a3257e6 alancharman67 PUBLIC 20 20
80bc169d5bc00cda3678ff3b1542bdf5 sm14hu PUBLIC 3 3
0011f6f8c1520fe9a7f471cc18fe72c0 rae242 PUBLIC 7 7
a2b9cea987795dcd15f534420e208aa6 stuff8472 PUBLIC 12 12
24c947b2bb79550cd50a78ef7388375f protech PUBLIC 3 3
cf407235165077cc8af4734c4027aa29 ynwhsh7 PUBLIC 78 78
8b1fb15b027586c41b6d2a02a9b08330 longcross PUBLIC 6 6
e05e1fe5454d12092cafc35597b81c01 calow1 PUBLIC 41 41
ed4ec99c2aafb707421de2d686a558f8 clivenobbs PUBLIC 4 4
9e13b815edde29e28c45fb22014883ad bish PUBLIC 83 83
8fd30a1d833b690ad90af5834ba66412 fieldwalker PUBLIC 66 65
7a8ea267466d1d4bc4e5786b0f8755c2 cantiaci1 PUBLIC 2 2
Alexander Bliss alexbliss SF 1 1
Jordan Gamble jgamble SOM 10 10
Andrew Williams andrewwilliams SOM 19 19
Nonn Bound nonnbound68 SOM 4 4
Alex Bliss abliss SUSS 19 19
Edwin Wood EdwinWood SUSS 161 157
Tim Locke timlocke SUSS 51 51
Amy Potts amypotts SUSS 83 83
Elizabeth Walker lwalker SUSS 95 95
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 83 70
Erik Vander Meulen evandermeulen WILT 13 13
Claire Goodey corbie01 WILT 15 15
Graham Bould kiwidigger WILT 1 1
Nina Dierks vikadierks WILT 39 39
Jane Hanbidge janehanbidge WILT 14 14
Alyson Tanner alysontanner WILT 23 23
Richard Henry rhenry2 WILT 266 7
Vic Allnatt vallnatt WMID 1 1
Teresa Gilmore tgilmore WMID 3 3
Susie White susiewhite WREX 8 8
5562 4307

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 84 69
EARLY MEDIEVAL 121 120
GREEK AND ROMAN PROVINCIAL 2 2
IRON AGE 410 150
MEDIEVAL 1042 1041
MESOLITHIC 25 25
MODERN 12 12
NEOLITHIC 47 47
PALAEOLITHIC 12 12
POST MEDIEVAL 1413 1045
ROMAN 2322 1716
UNKNOWN 72 68
5562 4307

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
ASHM 1
BERK 203
BH 7
BUC 21
CAM 2
DENO 1
DEV 4
DOR 4
DUR 2
ESS 2
FASAM 3
GLO 3
HAMP 108
HESH 1
IOW 70
KENT 67
LEIC 3
LON 4
LVPL 1
NARC 4
NMGW 6
NMS 3
OXON 68
PUBLIC 27
SF 1
SOM 9
SUR 15
SUSS 48
WAW 5
WILT 18
WMID 2
WREX 2
715

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 1090 992
February 1428 1131
March 759 752
April 1344 760
May 941 672
5562 4307

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 2414 1650
1899 2 2
1958 1 1
1960 14 14
1975 1 1
1989 1 1
1996 1 1
2006 1 1
2007 6 6
2008 7 7
2009 5 5
2010 4 4
2011 88 88
2012 5 5
2013 7 7
2014 43 43
2015 218 214
2016 140 139
2017 1371 1246
2018 1233 872
5562 4307

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Building work 1 1
Chance find during metal detecting 47 44
Controlled archaeological investigation 1 1
Controlled archaeological investigation (unstratified) 1 1
Fieldwalking 2 2
Gardening 6 6
Metal detector 5400 4151
Metal detector during controlled archaeological investigation 77 74
Other chance find 27 27
5562 4307

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 1257 971
Coastland 9 9
Cultivated land 4028 3081
Grassland, Heathland 218 211
Open fresh water 18 8
Other 19 14
Woodland 13 13
5562 4307

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 30 29
4 figure reference 2 2
6 figure reference 2233 1721
8 figure reference 884 605
10 figure reference 2413 1950
5562 4307