Statistical analysis of the database for Monday 1st January 2018 until Thursday 22nd February 2018

These archives can be searched to find out what was found on a particular day of the year. We have been recording digitally since 1998.

You can also choose your own date ranges. You must choose a date from and a date to to interrogate this properly.

Finds recorded for this period

County Objects Records
Buckinghamshire 323 233
East Sussex 165 164
Hampshire 531 269
Isle of Wight 192 180
Kent 255 252
Medway 8 6
Milton Keynes 44 44
Oxfordshire 733 708
Surrey 69 69
West Berkshire 22 22
West Sussex 34 34

Finds recorded by these 61 users

Fullname Username Institution Objects Records
Dr Alison Pollard medea1981 ASHM 126 126
Anni Byard abyard BERK 72 69
Rod Trevaskus rod BERK 6 6
Lindsey bertie123 BERK 5 5
Michael Byard maritime BERK 318 318
Philippa Walton pwalton BH 169 163
Helen Wickenden hwickenden BUC 20 20
Helena Costas hcostas BUC 96 96
Arwen James ajames BUC 194 105
rachel mowbray rachelcaistor DOR 2 2
Ciorstaidh Hayward Trevarthen caht DOR 2 2
Sophie Flynn slflynn ESS 2 2
Sam Moorhead sam FASAM 22 22
Kurt Adams kadams GLO 3 3
Steven Guy-Gibbens steveguy7819 HAMP 6 6
Peter Barker pbarker HAMP 61 61
James Fautley jam22 HAMP 2 2
Fiona Johnstone flojohnstonehamp HAMP 9 9
Katie Hinds khindshamp HAMP 50 47
Jordan Gamble jgamble HAMP 5 5
Frank Basford fbasford IOW 187 175
Henry Weeds henrydw21 KENT 12 12
Margaret Erwin smokedkelpie KENT 2 2
vikki brereton vikkib KENT 15 15
Walter (Jo) Ahmet ucljo KENT 116 111
Joyce Lee jmlarch84 LEIC 1 1
Elisabeth Janovsky ejkj1 LEIC 3 3
Vanessa Oakden voakden LVPL 7 7
Eleanore Cox elliecox05 NARC 5 5
Eirini Anagnostou eanagnostou NMGW 6 6
Claire Barker clairebarker NMS 1 1
Garry Crace norfolkarcher1 NMS 2 2
8b1fb15b027586c41b6d2a02a9b08330 longcross PUBLIC 3 3
8fd30a1d833b690ad90af5834ba66412 fieldwalker PUBLIC 30 30
9e13b815edde29e28c45fb22014883ad bish PUBLIC 36 36
0011f6f8c1520fe9a7f471cc18fe72c0 rae242 PUBLIC 7 7
ef83134bfcbff156710a2204e0f20673 ellie08rowland PUBLIC 8 8
ed4ec99c2aafb707421de2d686a558f8 clivenobbs PUBLIC 2 2
7a8ea267466d1d4bc4e5786b0f8755c2 cantiaci1 PUBLIC 1 1
24c947b2bb79550cd50a78ef7388375f protech PUBLIC 1 1
365c606815954e67d03234e271e90d25 32midhurst PUBLIC 3 3
9803b1212f85991e3ab525679a3257e6 alancharman67 PUBLIC 6 6
e05e1fe5454d12092cafc35597b81c01 calow1 PUBLIC 41 41
a2b9cea987795dcd15f534420e208aa6 stuff8472 PUBLIC 6 6
cf407235165077cc8af4734c4027aa29 ynwhsh7 PUBLIC 31 31
80bc169d5bc00cda3678ff3b1542bdf5 sm14hu PUBLIC 1 1
Alexander Bliss alexbliss SF 1 1
Andrew Williams andrewwilliams SOM 14 14
Nonn Bound nonnbound68 SOM 3 3
Margaret Broomfield margaretb SUR 139 122
Amy Potts amypotts SUSS 57 57
Elizabeth Walker lwalker SUSS 9 9
Tim Locke timlocke SUSS 15 15
Edwin Wood EdwinWood SUSS 90 89
Angie Bolton abolton WAW 26 26
Jane Hanbidge janehanbidge WILT 11 11
Richard Henry rhenry2 WILT 264 5
Nina Dierks vikadierks WILT 25 25
Alyson Tanner alysontanner WILT 14 14
Teresa Gilmore tgilmore WMID 3 3
Susie White susiewhite WREX 2 2
2376 1981

Quantities by period

Period Objects Records
BRONZE AGE 40 37
EARLY MEDIEVAL 54 53
GREEK AND ROMAN PROVINCIAL 2 2
IRON AGE 340 80
MEDIEVAL 468 467
MESOLITHIC 11 11
MODERN 5 5
NEOLITHIC 18 18
PALAEOLITHIC 1 1
POST MEDIEVAL 469 461
ROMAN 945 825
UNKNOWN 23 21
2376 1981

Number of recorders per insitution

Institution Number of finders
ASHM 1
BERK 208
BH 4
BUC 13
DOR 3
ESS 1
FASAM 2
GLO 2
HAMP 21
IOW 40
KENT 29
LEIC 2
LVPL 1
NARC 1
NMGW 6
NMS 2
PUBLIC 17
SF 1
SOM 3
SUR 15
SUSS 23
WAW 3
WILT 9
WMID 1
WREX 1
409

Average per month

Month Objects Records
January 1080 982
February 1296 999
2376 1981

Year of discovery

Year Objects Records
No year recorded 972 699
1899 2 2
1975 1 1
2006 1 1
2007 3 3
2008 1 1
2009 3 3
2010 4 4
2011 57 57
2012 3 3
2013 5 5
2014 26 26
2015 45 42
2016 67 67
2017 957 844
2018 229 223
2376 1981

Discovery method

Discovery method Objects Records
Chance find during metal detecting 5 5
Controlled archaeological investigation (unstratified) 1 1
Gardening 2 2
Metal detector 2321 1926
Metal detector during controlled archaeological investigation 41 41
Other chance find 6 6
2376 1981

Type of landuse

Landuse Objects Records
No land use recorded. 729 460
Coastland 4 4
Cultivated land 1497 1375
Grassland, Heathland 143 139
Other 3 3
2376 1981

Findspot precision

Grid reference precision Objects Records
No grid reference recorded 18 18
6 figure reference 874 845
8 figure reference 496 228
10 figure reference 988 890
2376 1981